…and more on the way!

Posted on November 7, 2011 by

4


The MES press department released a story on its website that TLG volunteers are still arriving. A couple of interesting things sprang to mind:

1 – They’re still counting group numbers. As far as I know they’re up to like Group 30 now (I was Group 3). My assumption was that they’d lose count or stop caring at some point, or that the numbers would get sufficiently high that they’d do some kind of reset over the summer. But nope, the group numbers are still going strong and you can tell how long someone’s been here based on their number. My hope is that some day people in group 534 look on the single-digit groups as legends lost in the mists of time.

2 – The groups are going to “Guria, Imereti, Kakheti, and Samegrelo.” I can’t put my finger on why, but I find this very interesting.

3 – The article says that by the end of the year, 1500 teachers will have come to Georgia through TLG. People always ask about this and we (those of us who like to pretend to know things) always guestimate some number which, over the summer, was about 1000. So assuming 500 more teachers are coming this year, that number was probably about accurate. I wonder how many volunteers are currently in Georgia and how many have moved on. I feel like having a volunteer counter might be really interesting – like how in the beginning of every episode of Battlestar Galactica they had a count of the remaining human population on the Colonial Fleet. Except hopefully much less morbid.

4 – I always want to meet the new volunteers. Does anyone else feel that way? I feel like we should have some kind of welcoming meet-and-greet for these folks. Obviously we can’t gather every volunteer in the country in one place every two weeks, but there’s got to be some way to remove that aura of mystery from all of the new groups. We’re curious about them, they’re curious about Georgia… seems like we should be able to come to some kind of arrangement.

Well, that’s all for now.

