Happy New Year!

Posted on January 2, 2012 by

0


Happy New Year, everyone!

(I might be saying this again in two weeks, when I’ll be back in Georgia to celebrate The Return of New Year on January 14th.)

In the US, it’s customary to make some resolutions that you intend to follow for the following year. Here are some of mine:

1. Get fit. I’ve been eating way too much delicious Georgian bread and bread product. My study of khatchapuri is now complete; it’s time to scale back. In order of preference: Atchma, Megruli, penovani, Imeruli (no, I don’t like Atcharuli because raw eggs squick me). Ditto for Georgian beers (Natakhtari, Argo, Kasri, Germanuli… I don’t really like Karva or Kazbegi; I also enjoy Efes and Baltica if we’re going for low-end ubiquitous imports.) This year I’m going on a diet, and I’m going to exercise more. I’m thinking of starting a workout group once the weather improves. I’m also going to cut down on limonati (Cream, Saperavi, Pear, Orange, dislike: Tarragon) and drink more minerali (Nabeghlavi, Sairme, Borjomi, Likani).

2. Get certified. I am one test away from my TEFL certificate. The classes really help and I’m looking forward to applying some of the techniques I learned in the classroom. I’m also going to try to find other, creative ways to improve my teaching skills.

3. Get around. I feel like I have traveled much less than some other volunteers – 15 months in the country and I haven’t been to Armenia or Azerbaijan; I’d also like to go to some far-flung or isolated areas of Georgia (like Svaneti and Racha) and check out some mountains.

Share your New Years resolutions in the comments section!

Posted in: Current Events