A New Round of Excursions!

Posted on April 23, 2012 by

0


Volunteers, check your emails! TLG just announced the next round of the famous TLG Excursions!

Based on my experiences last year, I can say with confidence that when TLG puts together a field trip, they do it right. I’ve been to Vardzia, Gori and Uplistsikhe, Kachreti, and Batumi with TLG (one of the benefits of having been around for 20 months and counting!) and each trip was better than the last. I’m not normally a particularly excitable person, but TLG excursions are by far my favorite aspect of being in Georgia and working for TLG.

This year’s destinations include Vardzia, Uplistsikhe, Kazbegi, Davit Gareji, Dmanisi, Sataplia, and more. TLG provides tour guides who speak excellent English and have a detailed knowledge of the sites we visit. Meals are provided and are generally surprisingly good (last year we had real sandwiches!). The scenery of Georgia is, of course, beautiful, and the buses and vans TLG uses are comfortable. Plus, it’s a great chance to meet and socialize with other TLG volunteers!

I can’t recommend these excursions enough. Sign up, and soon, because I have a feeling these trips are going to fill up fast!